Network Recycle Bin
One known deficiency in Windows is the lack of a network Recycle Bin. To explain, when you delete a file on your local hard drive, the file is placed in the Recycle Bin so that you can recover it. This is a very welcome feature when you accidentally delete the wrong file. On a network drive, however, there is no Recycle Bin. When you delete a file on a network drive, the deletion is immediate and permanent.
Enterprise Organizer Pro makes up for this deficiency by providing a Recycle Bin for network drives.
Accessing the Recycle Bin
Access the Recycle Bin from the Tools menu > Recycle Bin.
- If your current cabinet is on the local drive, you will see the Windows Recycle Bin
- If your current cabinet is on a network drive, you will see the Enterprise Organizer Pro Recycle Bin
Using the Enterprise Organizer Pro Recycle Bin
The Enterprise Organizer Pro Recycle Bin is similar to the Windows Recycle Bin. You will see that there are options to empty the Recycle Bin and to restore all of the items in the Recycle bin.
Emptying the Recycle Bin will remove all of the items from the Recycle Bin. After an item is removed, it cannot be restored.
Restoring items in the Recycle Bin will "undelete" them and return them to their original locations.
Restoring a file will overwrite a file of the same name. For example, suppose that there is a file called scan.pdf in the Scans folder. You now restore a file called scan.pdf to the Scans folder. The file you are restoring will overwrite the file that is already there.
Re-Sorting the List of Files
By default the files in the Recycle Bin are sorted by name. Sometimes it is more useful to sort the files by the location that they came from, like when you want to restore a whole folder of files. To sort by location, click on the Original Location column heading. The files will now be sorted by location. To go back to a list sorted by name, click on the Name column heading.
You can also change the sort direction, like sorting in descending order rather than ascending. To change the sort direction, click again on the column heading of the sorted column.
Selective Emptying and Restoring
You can empty or restore select files in the list. Clicking on any file will select it. You may also select multiple files, as follows.
Range: You can select a continuous range of files:
- Select the file at the top of the range
- Press and hold down the Shift key on your keyboard
- Click the last file in the range
All files between the top and end of the range will be selected.
Random: You can select multiple random files. The files do not need to be next to each other, in a range, or selected in any particular order:
- Select the first file
- Press and hold down the Ctrl key on your keyboard
- Click on any number of other files
Each file you click on while holding down the Ctrl key will be added to the selection.
When are files sent to the Recycle Bin?
The Enterprise Organizer Pro Recycle Bin captures network files that are deleted in Cabinets. It does not capture files that are deleted in the Explorer view.
Recycle Bin Settings
To configure the Enterprise Organizer Pro Recycle Bin location or to enable/disable the Enterprise Organizer Pro Recycle Bin, see Miscellaneous Settings.