Administer Shared Settings

Enterprise Organizer Pro has an easy sharing feature for sharing cabinets, folder templates, and naming options between users. System administrators can also use this feature to disable specific Enterprise Organizer Pro features on their users’ machines.

If you’re just getting started with sharing, see Sharing Basics and Begin Sharing.

Once you’ve begun sharing, the Admin Tool will help you edit the shared settings, establish user groups, and carry out other administrative tasks. Access the Admin Tool from the Enterprise Organizer Pro Tools button > Administer Shared Settings.

Connecting to Shared Settings

The first time you open the Admin Tool, it might ask you to open a shared folder. To explain, Enterprise Organizer Pro keeps shared settings in a simple folder out on the network where all of your users can access them. See The Shared Settings Folder for more information.

To open the shared settings, just click Open in the Admin Tool and browse out to the shared settings folder. If you have more than one folder of shared settings, you can administer all of them with the Admin Tool. Just use the Open button to select the one you want to work on.

Administrators

The user who sets up the shared settings folder will automatically become the administrator, or in other words, the user who is allowed to edit the settings with the Admin Tool.

The administrator can allow other users into the Admin Tool. To add more administrators:

  1. First find out their Windows username (the name they log in with). To find it, open Enterprise Organizer Pro on the user’s machine > Tools button > Connect to Shared Settings; their username will display at the bottom of the dialog box
  2. Now open the Admin Tool on the administrator’s machine
  3. Click the Admin button
  4. Enter the usernames of the new administrators, one per line
  5. Press Ctrl+S to save the changes, then close the list
Tip:

You can also find your username in the Admin Tool. Open the Admin Tool and look on the title bar at the top of the dialog. It will say Administrator - [username] where "[username]" is the current Windows user.

Managing Shared Cabinets, Folder Templates, Naming Options, etc.

For help managing shared items, like cabinets, folder templates, naming options, etc., see General Settings.

Default Settings; Disable Features

You can enforce certain Enterprise Organizer Pro settings on your users’ machines. You can also disable some settings and features. See General Settings for more information.

Rolling Out Enterprise Organizer Pro

The Admin Tool can assist with rolling out Enterprise Organizer Pro on the network by providing an install file for silent installs, deploying product keys, and automatically supplying shared settings for the user. See Administer Shared Settings for more information.

Users and Groups

If you have a large network and you need to roll out more than one Enterprise Organizer Pro configuration, look into setting up different user groups.

Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Security Code Security Code
Related Articles RSS Feed
The Shared Settings Folder
Viewed 1454 times since Wed, Oct 30, 2013
Sharing Indexes
Viewed 1138 times since Wed, Oct 30, 2013
Set Up the Other Machines
Viewed 1374 times since Wed, Oct 30, 2013
Network Setup
Viewed 2934 times since Sat, Oct 26, 2013
Sharing a Separator
Viewed 1093 times since Wed, Oct 30, 2013
Sharing Basics
Viewed 2690 times since Wed, Oct 30, 2013
Cloud Setup
Viewed 2858 times since Sat, Oct 26, 2013
Sharing Search Indexes
Viewed 2265 times since Tue, Oct 29, 2013
Sharing Separators
Viewed 1403 times since Sat, Oct 26, 2013
MENU